A Review of Conversations with the Fat Girl by Liza Palmer

0730141204-1
I was so happy to find I enjoyed this book. Immediately after claiming I found it impossible to hate books I managed to read several books that I hated. So, glad to be back on the right path. Disclaimer of sorts: Are you a fatter-than-you’d-like-to-be woman? You will love this book. Don’t even read the review, just go read the book. You can trust me on this. I would never lie to you! But actually, read the review anyway, I was being dramatic.

Conversations with the Fat Girl primarily deals with one of the most common problems of all women and generally most men, as well: body image. The main character, Maggie Thompson, has been fat since adolescence. She can hardly remember who she is because all she can identify herself as is fat. For many years she found solace in the friendship of Olivia Morten, a fellow fat girl. Olivia isn’t quiet or self-effacing. She ignores her shape and tries to rise above the taunts of her peers. They hurt her, but she internalizes them until one night, one insult, pushes her over the edge. Olivia decides to get her stomach stapled and loses all of the weight in a hurry. Four years after that is when the story opens.

Olivia is a size two, getting married to a gorgeous doctor, and is a colossal bitch. Maggie, meanwhile, is bigger than ever, has a Master’s degree in museum studies (focusing on restoration), works in a coffee shop, and lives alone with a dog named Solo. Their friendship has endured their lives following completely different paths. They’re planning Olivia’s dream wedding together, an event they’ve both been looking forward to since childhood.

That’s the plot in a nutshell. What you really need to know about this book, however, is that it isn’t your typical accept yourself and your life will be perfect self-help nonsense. I was sure that was what I should expect and I was dreading it. I can’t take my heart being warmed. Maggie is easy to relate to but she isn’t one dimensional. She has flaws and she’s brazen about them. She’s unlikable sometimes. Mostly, she’s fun to follow. She has a great voice.

Anyway, if I could end this as unprofessionally as possible, read this damn book. Do it tomorrow. You want to borrow it? You totally can. It’s kind of wavy in the back though. Koshek knocked over a glass of water on my bookcase.

0730141204a

Leave a comment

Filed under Reading, Writing

Leave a Reply

