Forget What I Said, Let’s Talk About Me

Job hunting is extra stressful for me because of my anxiety. I was glad to be putting it off until after PAX even though it increased my money worries. But I couldn’t resist the chance to apply at one of my favorite bookstores when they said they were hiring. It was almost like a sign. I was meant to have this job!

Only my surety ended exactly after that thought. Ever after I’ve been petrified every step of the way and dreading a rejection. I slaved over the application (it was a labor of love) and turned it in but I didn’t expect a callback. Imagine my surprise when I got an interview for the 31st. It was the very best day.

Since then, though, I’ve been a bundle of nerves. What if they don’t like me? What if my nervousness makes it impossible for me to say anything? What if say something unbelievably stupid and embarrass myself? I know that, whatever happens, when it’s over I’ll feel all right again. All of this is dread of the interview, not fear of not getting this job.

That comes next.

Leave a comment

Filed under Writing

Leave a Reply

