I’m Bad at Middles

I didn’t want this blog to be too much like a diary so I resolved to talk about everyone but me most of the time. This entry, however, is going to be entirely about me. You were warned.

I’m writing a book. It’s a problem. The book isn’t a problem, I’m the problem. I have very nearly all of the book written already but I’ve hit a wall. Usually you would think that the problem would be the ending. Oh, no. I have the ending in the bag. And the beginning, as well. I’m really good at beginnings.

It’s the damn middle. I don’t know what I’m doing with the middle bit. I’m completely at sea. It’s gotten to the point where I can’t open my book’s file without having a panic attack. So, I’m just in stasis on this book, hoping I can break myself of the terror and finish typing the rest of the middle.

Meanwhile, I’ve got a new book fully formed in my mind. I sat down today and typed out an outline for it, no problem, no fuss, no panic at all.

Sometimes, I really hate my brain.

3 Comments

Filed under Writing

3 responses to “I’m Bad at Middles

  1. People who write fiction are minor miracle workers. I could never do it.

  2. Mayhaps the getting out of the outline for the future book will loosen the wedge holding back on the middle of the current book. 🙂

    [and CAC is right about the being minor miracle workers, I know I can barely write an email without fucking it up.]

  3. difficultphrasing

    I’m hoping it all shakes out, definitely. In the between-times, though, it’s always nice to have friendly support.

Leave a Reply

