Interlude: “I’m bored.”

Yesterday, Aidan was sick and spent most of the day crashed out on the couch in the living room. Thankfully he’s the sort that requires little to no attention when he’s sick. He just wants to sleep near a TV and a bottle of Gatorade. I wouldn’t have minded needing to take care of him most days but yesterday my tooth was killing me and I wanted to do exactly what he was doing.

Lily tolerated my interests for a couple of hours (we watched Full House and played with her cat, Miguel Meowgi in her room) but after that she got stern with me.

“Auntie,” she said, with a sigh, “I’m bored.”

“What would you like to do?” I asked.

“I don’t know. Not this.”

Not a good lead. So I explained to her that there wasn’t a lot we could do, her brother was asleep and we needed to be quiet. I tried to interest her in a couple different games on my computer (Tetris, Mario Kart, Frogger and Ms. Pac-man) but that didn’t work well. She says she likes them but she complains because she isn’t very good and she hates the graphics. Kids these days, right?

Around about that time, my sister got home for lunch. Lily wasted no time at all in ratting me out.

“Mom, Auntie hasn’t wanted to do anything but lie around today.”

Thanks a billion, kid.

Her only idea was to get out balloons to play with. I blew up a couple and we knocked them around for the last 45 minutes or so I was there. She had a great time with it.

Image

But Aidan’s attitude was more what I was feeling.

Image

I am so terribly boring.

2 Comments

Filed under Kids

2 responses to “Interlude: “I’m bored.”

  1. We are going to have to arrange a playdate sometime.

  2. Oh, man, if only. That would be great.

Leave a Reply

